Marine Reserve Established 

Following a lengthy consultative process, the Turneffe Atoll Marine Reserve (TAMR) was officially established on November 22, 2012 as Belize’s largest Marine Reserve. The Fisheries Department, within the Ministry of Fisheries, Forestry and Sustainable Development, is responsible for the oversight and management of all Marine Reserves in Belize, including Turneffe Atoll Marine Reserve.
Statutory Instrument 111 or 2012
FISHERIES (Turneffe Atoll Marine Reserve) REGULATIONS, 2012 

Turneffe Atoll Marine Reserve Management Plan

Over a two year period prior to the establishment of the Marine Reserve, stakeholders and other interested parties developed comprehensive 300 page Management Plan for the Reserve.  This Management Plan is widely viewed as the most comprehensive such plan in Belize.

             MANAGEMENT PLAN


Co-managers Chosen

In October of 2013, the Ministry and the Fisheries Department designated the Turneffe Atoll Sustainability Association (TASA) as the Co-manager to manage the day-to-day operations of TAMR. A five-year contract was executed.

The Turneffe Atoll Sustainability Association 

The Turneffe Atoll Sustainability Association (TASA) was formed by Turneffe stakeholders for the sole purpose of operating TAMR. The Board of Directors has been established in a manner to permanently ensure representation of Turneffe's key stakeholders.  Following are the Board positions mandated in the TASA Articles; two representatives from the fishing sector, two representatives from the tourism sector, one representative from the University of Belize, one representative from Turneffe Atoll Trust, one private landowner at Turneffe, and two persons of conservation expertise.

Turneffe Atoll Sustainability Association (TASA)
10 North Park Street, Belize City
(011-501) 670-8272

   TASA Conference Room
The Turneffe Atoll Advisory Committee
The Advisory Committee is established by the Fisheries Administrator for the purpose of advising on the efficient management of the Reserve.  Advisory Committee members are appointed by the post they hold in their respective organization and the committee includes representatives from the following organizations.
  •   one representative of the Fisheries Department; 
  •   one representative of the Forestry Department; 
  •   one representative of the Coastal Zone Management Authority and Institute; 
  •   one representative of the Turneffe Atoll Sustainable Association; 
  •   one representative of the Turneffe Atoll Trust; 
  •   one representative of the Association of Protected Areas Management Organizations;
  •   one representative from the Protected Areas Conservation Trust; 
  •   one representative of the Ministry responsible for Tourism; 
  •   one representative of the Ministry responsible for Natural Resources;  
  •  one representative of the Environmental Research Institute of the University of Belize;
  •  one representative of an International Non-Government Organization; 
  •  one representative from the Belize Fishermen Federation;
  •  one representative from the Belize Fishermen Cooperative Association;
  •  one tourism representative with primary tourism business located at Turneffe; 
  •  one resident representing the private landowners of Turneffe; and 
  •  any other person appointed by the Fisheries Administrator.